Rules updates

Clarifications

People have asked questions about how exactly the rules will be interpreted and so we have made some clarifications, now released in the 2nd Version. The changes are as follows:

RuleOld rule (V1.5)New rules (V2.0)
1.9If a token is being touched by more than one robot, the token is removed from the field and does not score.If a token is being controlled by more than one robot, the token is removed from the field and does not score.
 1.11A robot will be considered to be controlling a token if it is touching a robot or contained within the robot.
The Judge’s decision is final.
 A robot will be considered to be controlling a token if it is touching a robot, or token is within the perimeter of the robot. Appendix B explains what constitutes the perimeter of the robot.
 2.3 Robots must not intentionally damage anything – including tokens, buckets, the arena or other robots. At the discretion of the Judge, teams who deliberately engage in collisions or take insufficient precautions against collisions may be penalised including disqualification from rounds and deduction of league points Robots must not intentionally damage anything – including tokens, buckets, the arena or other robots. At the discretion of the Judge, teams who deliberately engage in collisions or take insufficient precautions against collisions may be disqualified from rounds until the issue is resolved.

New rule

In addition to the above changes, rule 1.23 has been added:

Token scoring begins 10 seconds after the round ends. Should any further movement of the token occur after this point, the token is removed from the field and does not score.

For further clarification about what counts as controlling appendix B has been added. Which is included bellow:


Appendix B

Tokens inside the perimeter of the robot are considered to be being controlled by the robot. The perimeter of the robot is defined by a virtual “thread”, wrapped around the furthest extremities of the robot. The images below are provided for clarification.

B.1. TOKENS WITHIN THE ROBOT

Figure 5: Tokens contained by a wireframe robot.
The red cubes represent tokens that are not considered to be controlled by the wireframe robot, and the green cubes represent tokens that are being controlled by the wireframe robot. While not all the green cubes are touching the robot, since they are at least partially contained within the perimeter, they are considered to be controlled.

B.2. VIRTUAL THREAD PERIMETER

Figure 6: Tokens in and outside the virtual thread perimeter.
The virtual thread (marked by the thicker grey line) is wrapped around the furthest extremity of the robot, and defines its perimeter. The token that is partially within the perimeter, as shown by the grey mesh underneath the virtual thread, is considered to be controlled by the robot, but the red token next to it is outside the perimeter of the robot and does not count.

B.3. TOKENS CONTROLLED BY TWO ROBOTS

Figure 7: Two wireframe robots with overlapping perimeters.
When the perimeter of two robots overlaps (such as in Figure 7), tokens that are within the perimeter of both cubes are considered to be controlled by both, and therefore are removed from play and score for neither.

 

 


For further clarification contact us.